Half Lived (Poem)

What do you do with a life half lived. What do you do when your best moments have all passed

What do you do when that happens before even a third of your lifetime has passed

What is the point of that life

That life whose living has come and gone so soon

That life that continues on against all reason

That life that continues on for no purpose

An existence alone 

An existence of pain

“What doesn’t kill you, makes you stronger”

But what if existence is death

What if life did kill you

But you woke up the next day and it was all the same

What if life killed you everyday

And yet you kept living 

Living as a shell

Living as a burden

Living as skin and bones 

Dying even though your heart keeps beating 

Unable to help 

Unable to cry out

Unable to live

Unable to die

What do you do with that

          – written by Kahlan222

2 thoughts on “Half Lived (Poem)

  1. What a beautiful but heartbreaking poem. I read your “about” page and see you are very young. I don’t know what your past has been like but I want to encourage you that you can get better. I was where you are for many years but with lots of hard work and examining my own thoughts, habits, etc. , I was able to completely eradicate my depression. That was years ago. You might want to check out my blog as I write a lot about depression. I have also counseled many and was a hospital chaplain for many years. I do write from a Christian perspective but I think you will find I am not the least bit judgmental or condemning. I am going to follow you so I can keep track of your progress. God bless.

    Like

    • Thank you for the encouragement. I’m in my early 30’s and learned enough to know how much I have yet to learn but also how many scars can form at any age. I too am a Christian and that is a huge part of why I am here. I’m trying to keep my posts from being “bible thumping” as depression knows no creed, ethnicity or religion and I have felt for a long time that God wanted me to share my story, that He had some plan. There are so many out there who don’t have the voice to speak for help. I hope that my struggles can help others. I’ve already met a few people and I hope my blog can be a place to vent, share and ask for help or encouragement. Thank you again for your kind words and following my blog. God Bless! ❤️

      Like

Leave a Reply

