The Monster Named Apathy


While still fighting everything else; Although the emergency situation I wrote about in my last post is better; my worst enemy these past few days has been overwhelming apathy. 

I lay here and I can think of the things I need to do….want to do. Things that might help my pain and my mood…but I just can’t seem to care. 


It must be one of the most frustrating parts of depression. Also one of the easiest for us to blame ourselves for feeling….

“If I were just stronger, I could snap out of it.”

“What is wrong with me that I can’t just get up?!”

I’ve been struggling with those thoughts..that if I could just overcome this complete lack of caring, I might actually be doing okay right now. 

I can’t seem to find the balance between cutting myself some slack and still trying to fight.

5 thoughts on “The Monster Named Apathy

  1. I understand your frustration. Sometimes you just have to remind yourself that you have to learn to rest because you already know how to push through. Hang in there and give yourself time to recoup from recent events. ((Hugs))

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

